On the Needles – Soft Rib Cardigan

With our months of home improvements and making the horsie blanket for the baby shower, I actually only knit one gift for Christmas — a prayer shawl for my Middle Sister. It’s made of Bernat Soft Bouclé yarn (#26958 – Carnival Shades) that is so light and soft and cushy, it feels like you’re knitting air. MS emailed me … It is already in place on the back of my prayer/reading rocker in the living room (reading + rocking = exercise!). Maybe I should get rid of my treadmill and get a rocking chair instead. It would certainly get a lot more use!!!

I enjoyed making this prayer shawl so much, I bought yarn to start another (#22927 Misty Shades). While I didn’t know at that time who it would be for, I spoke with someone last week whose husband has been through cancer treatments. Things were looking good; then he was just retested and they found another spot. I can’t even imagine how scary that must be. They are young with three boys. She told me she puts on a confident face for her husband, but cries in the shower — this one will be for her.

I receive a weekly email from Lion Brand and last week’s newsletter included a pattern that was so cute, I decided I had to start it right away. Check out the Soft Rib Cardigan. I am not using the Fishermen’s Wool yarn they show it in, but their pastel blue Pound of Love that is easy care and can be machine washed and dried.

I started the sweater yesterday and got the lovely rounded bottom of the back done while we watched the Cardinals football game. I’m not a big sports fan, but it was quite the exciting game, tied 38 even and going into overtime. Fortunately, the Cards beat the Packers by 7 points so we’re still in the play offs. I must say, it’s a lot more fun to watch sports (and everything else) on the big screen. I can actually tell what’s going on … sometimes.

Anyway, this sweater is knit holding two strands of the yarn together so it is thick and cozy. And the slip rib stitch is an easy repeat that I can just knit on without referring back to the pattern every few minutes. I think I’m going to like this one a lot.

4 Responses

  1. Hello, my name is Jess, and I work for Lion Brand (I tweet on @lionbrandyarn). I just wanted to thank you for using the Soft Rib Cardigan! It looks great so far. Keep up the great work!

    With warm regards,
    Jess

  2. I am the proud owner of the shawl pictured. It is one of the most beautiful things I own – useful and beautiful is a rare combination. I feel like a princess when I snuggle under it and look out at our frozen landscape. Thanks again, Sis!

    You know….all this knitterspeak is kind of mysterious to the un-initiated. You all could be arranging drug deals or coup attempts for all we know. Is there a decoder ring? Do you have a secret handshake? Is there an underground militia armed with knitting needles and crochet hooks we need to worry about? : )

Leave a Reply

